Browser troubles?

Can’t access this forum using my Android phone or Internet Explorer. Works fine using Chrome. Anyone else having trouble or is it all at my end?

I think it is at your end . Internet Explorer is not supported anymore . Why not upgrade to windows 10 as it is much better anyway.

I am using IE version 11.0 and it works fine for me.

Have you tried using Chrome on your Android? Works for me.

Windows 7 is on its way out and will lose support on Jan 14, 2020. Problems like this are going to get worse with time once support ends. At least use a better supported browser such as Chrome or Firefox if you stick with this outdated operating system.

Eventually those will lose support and compatibility and security issues will make it not worthwhile. This is what I do for a living and tell people they need to get off Windows 7 ASAP.

Ya, I think there’s a new laptop for me under the tree this year, so that should cure the Windows 10 issue.

But on a side note, there seem to be an awful lot of programs out there that don’t work with Edge browser. I’m not particularly an IT guy, but at work if I don’t have Explorer I can’t fix cars. I can’t access Alldata Pro using Edge, I can’t register new keys to your 2017 Ford unless I register with NASTF which required me to open a window in Explorer instead of Edge. I don’t know if these are security issues or browser issues or what.

Personally I do not have a doom and gloom outlook for win 7. Never use IE, chrome has been my go to. I have an Ativirus program. I used XP way past it’s expiration date, and plan do do the same with win 7.

3 Likes

Some people get away with running outdated OSes. You have to make sure the browser is at least supported and receives updates. Hopefully your antivirus software is of decent quality and also still gets updates.