2011 Dodge Durango - Wheel bearings? Whirring

2011 dodge durango awd 3.6 only had it a year / half purchased during a car shortage, after my jeep blew up ! , dont drive much , really dont like this durango, maybe put a few hundred miles on it , mr durango has a total of 154000 … the problems are flex fuel or unleaded? ALSO the problem this week is : turn left i have a noise by the wheel , a light metal sound ??? whiring sound ??? i am thinking wheel bearings ???

Could be a wheel bearing, or could be a faulty CV joint, if that particular wheel uses a CV joint. I have no Durango experience, so don’t know if it even uses CV joints. If you can see a rubber boot covering a shaft going to the center of the wheel, there’s likely a CV joint on that wheel. Most common symptoms, faulty CV joints tend to make a clicking sound when turning at slow speed. Faulty wheel bearings make a roaring or growling noise, louder the faster you go. Also suggest to take a look at the tire tread, as some tread wear patterns can make unusual noises.

Thanks for your reply

1 Like

Could also be the brake squealer rubbing the brake rotor letting you know you need brakes…

The front cv axle (4WD/AWD only on a Durango, so if RWD this does not apply) will click when turning tight, like into a parking spot when it is going bad…

A front wheel/hub bearing will normally make more noise when loading the bearing by slightly turning, like a curve on the interstate etc but can/will make less noise when unloading it, like turning the other way… If turning right makes more noise, then it is normally your left wheel bearing/hub bearing, if turning left makes more noise then normally your right bearing is going bad… You can have a bad hub bearing going bad and not be loose…

thank you very much, for the info, appreciate it!
will definitely get the brakes check!! ! probably just replace them, couldn’t HURT, right?

Your welcome and welcome to the forum…