Acura Transmissions

Holy Magoly…Today I was told my 2003 Acura TL (79,500 mi) needs a transmission and the estimate was $4,000! Extended warranty expired 12/29/09 - surprise. Does that seem a little high?

I was told that Acura might do some good faith thing where they don’t charge me full price but there’s a whole check list of things that needs to be satisfied first. One of the items referred to whether I was a good servicing customer - which, to me, means whether or not I have been paying their inflated prices for oil changes for the last several years. I’m so bummed! Should I just fix it and get rid of it? It’s not even paid for yet! ARGH!

Have you been servicing your transmission every 25-30k miles like it SHOULD be?? I’m taking it by the way you are posting that you have not taken care of your transmission. Dont feel too bad though, most people do not service their transmissions properly if at all. 95% of the transmissions crossing my bench are there due to lack of or improper servicing. You guys are making people like me rich. 79k is not a lot of miles at all. If its in good shape otherwise, I would fix it and keep it. Its a lot cheaper than having a new car payment. Just finish paying it off.

transman

By good servicing customer they may also mean changing the transmission fluid on time. If you didn’t have it done at the dealer do you at least have receipts and/or records showing you had the services performed on time at another shop?

If you have changed the transmission fluid according to required intervals (typically 30k in 2003 vintage) you have a strong leg to stand on.

Keep the car irregardless, you will loose serious money selling it with a failed transmission.

The automatics in the early 2000’s Acura TL/Honda Accord/Odyssey ARE JUNK yet people recommend them away on this board as a good reliable cars.