Why do they make glove boxes out of pressed cardboard?

My classic Ford truck, no matter how rough the ride quality, it has a really robust design. Every aspect seems to be designed to be super-strong. Except the glove box, which believe it or not is made out of pressed cardboard. Is there some motivation Ford would have for this? It seems incongruous to the rest of the vehicle.

I guess because it’s cheap. Plus, if you made it out of steel like the rest of your dash, all your glovebox junk would rattle around. Cause nobody puts just gloves in there. I suppose they didn’t have the plastics back then that they have today, either. My 79 Jeep had the cardboard box too. I replaced it with an aftermarket plastic one, but the plastic one was made 20 years after the Jeep was produced.

My thoughts anyway. I’m not a plastics expert, but I’m trying to think of molded plastic on cars from the 70’s and I can’t think of much of anything that wasn’t really brittle and “blocky” in design back then.

1 Like

That makes some sense in the way of motivation, but it seems like Ford could have accomplished the same thing with a metal or plastic glove box lined with felt or something similar. I’m just curious about it is all, I mean given how tough the rest of the truck is, why make the glove box out of the same material used for egg cartons? The glove box contains the truck’s t fuse panel, and the fuse panel attachment method is two pieces of metal which squeeze the cardboard. Doesn’t that seem an unusual design for a way to hold a fuse panel in place? … lol …

Hey, you need a box, cardboard is the first thing that comes to mind!

Agreed, it’s kind of cheapy. Seems they could’ve come up with something better. That cardboard glovebox in an open top Jeep didn’t fare well. I think the one in my dad’s 1950 Chevy truck is cardboard too, but I may remember incorrectly. Pretty much everything else is steel besides the tires and windows!