Toyota Corolla1999 with 36,000 mileage

Hello, I have no knowledge about cars, so I really need some advices. I will really appreciate if you can help me out to make a right choice. I have been looking for used cars ( less than or around $5000), and lately, my driving teacher told me he can sell Toyota Corolla 1999 with 36,000 mileage for $ 5200. It is pretty cheap but I feel its kind of too old…He is an autotech and has told me its better to buy older used cars with low mileage than newer used cars with high mileage.

What do you think? Do you think I should buy this car from this guy? Thank you very much for reading my posts. And if I make any mistakes in writing, I am so sorry. I just came to the U.S as an international student, my language skill is still pretty bad.

It’s very difficult to determine whether a used vehicle is worth the money or not without a thorough inspection.

This car has low mileage (allegedly) but it sounds overpriced to me.

It’s also not completely true that an older low miles car is better than a new one with higher miles. It all depends on how well they were maintained and how the miles were put on the cars. In other words, if both vehicles were maintained the same a car with 80,000 highway miles may be in much better shape than a car with 36,000 miles of short hop driving.

I’m sorry about not being defintive on whether or not you should buy the car or not. There are simply too many unknowns about the car but the price seems a bit high to me.
Actually, the language is very good and better than many native Americans.