1999 Corolla: Make ~ $5000 repairs or buy used car?

My 1999 Toyota Corolla has been a reliable performer since I bought it in 2002. I has 118,000 miles on it and for the last three years has mostly been driven around the city (I live in DC) with maybe two or three highway trips of an hour or more each year. I’ve been a full-time student these last few years so I have not had the income to keep up with a repair schedule beyond oil changes and tune-ups. My dilemma is this: do I repair the car (see list below) or take that money and buy something else? If the answer is buy something else, what would you recommend? I prefer a vehicle that’s standard shift, low gas consumption, and Toyotas or Nissans. Before this Toyota, I owned a Nissan that gave me zero problems. I was rear-ended and the insurance company declared that car a total loss.

Repair list:
front/rear struts and mounts
front/rear sway bar links
front lower ball joints (L&R)
front lower control arms
front pads & rotors
clutch assembly
tires

Oh, though I finally mapped out new driving routes from my home to most destinations, until I did, I drove through a construction zone almost everyday for the last two years.

looking forward to your thoughts and guidance.

Without having car in hand or knowing how bad any of these items are I would suggest that you proceed carefully before authorizing any work. Do not tell anyone else providing an estimate about the repairs that have been recommended to you. See if it all lines up the same.
Brakes and tires are routine wear items. The rest is debateable depending on the severity; if any.

Who gave you this estimate; dealer, independent shop, chain store? Even for all of that the price seems very high even for the D.C. area.