Throttle body cleaning/replacement

My fiance has an 03 nissan Pathfinder, and the service engine light has been on for some time. she took it to the dealer and the code indicated a problem with the throttle body. They want $450 to fix it, and we are getting married soon and don’t have that kind of money now. I have been looking online to see if other people have had this problem with this car, and how it can be fixed. Some suggest that this can be done at home. My question is, if I am a fairly inexperienced weekend mechanic who has not worked on a car for several years, is this a task I can undertake myself? It sounds like I can try to clean the throttle body, as carbon tends to build up there, then go through some processes to reset the ECU, and throttle learning. Is this easy to do? Is there a chance I can royally screw something up? Please help.

It would be helpful to know the exact code or codes that were pulled. A lot of throttle body assemblies also incorporate the IAC (Idle Air Controller) and TPS (Throttle Position Sensor), and is a junction point for a lot of vacuum lines. Problems with any of these can set the Service Engine light, and may not be fixed with a simple throttle body cleaning.

However, a throttle body cleaning can help driveability problems when a lot of carbon has built up. The easy way to check is to disconnect the intake hose, open the throttle, and look down the opening. If the backside of the throttle plate is caked up, and lots of carbon-laden sludge on the throat, it could probably stand a good cleaning. Just use a sensor-safe throttle body cleaner so you don’t damage the sensors.

There are no codes for the throttle body itself. There are codes for those components mounted on the throttle body. Do you have the code number?

Tester