Remote starters

I drive a 2003 automatic Honda Civic. I work as a bartender and am considering getting a remote starter so that when I leave at early times in the morning my car is ready to go. I wanted to know your opinion on how they work and what make and models are the best

thanks

The one’s I have are Power Code Systems made for Ford to sell at dealers but I don’t know if that company makes for other brands.
They’re highly secure with alarms, engine kill circuits, and good range.

When you push the start button it locks all the doors. If someone were to enter the car with out a key, as soon as the push the brake pedal it kills the engine.
one time I used my key in the door cylinder to get in and the alarm went off until I pushed the disarm button on the remote.

As with all remote starts, advance planning is key to having the interior warm or glass defrosted when you get in. Set the heater or defrost in the settings you’ll need ahead of time. Out here in the four corners at 6500 feet altitude it’s hard to remember when I park it at 70 degrees that it will be 30 or less in the morning.

As you aware that it is OK to start your car and drive off even if it is cold. The trick is not to hit the freeway 30 seconds after starting it. The car will warm up best if it is being driven at reasonable speeds.

It is better for the car if you drive off as opposed to letting it idle in place.

Of course if YOU want to be warm and don’t mine a little (it is really little) extra wear on your car, a good remote should work fine. Sorry I don’t know the best make or model, but I would look for the best install.

Remote starters are much more complicated than you might think. To do a simple job the starter interacts with multiple circuts in the car. For that reason when they work, great. When they don’t work, or go bad, all kinds of wierd symptoms can occur. I’ve had one and enjoyed the convienience but when it went bad after about 3 years I didn’t bother to replace it.