How/if to buy an after-market remote starter for my 2009 Hyundai Elantra

I’m thinking about buying a remote starter given the forecast of heavy snows and freezing cold weather. I asked my repair guy about recommendations and he told me that he can’t recommend them because at times they actually interfere with starting the car. That’s the last thing I want, but I can’t help believing that I need more information before blindly taking his advice. I know there are a wide variety of starters out there, and that some are better than others.

Does anyone have any recommendations or thoughts about this issue? Any help you can provide is greatly appreciated.

Paul

I’m a mechanic, and granted, I see the cars that have problems with remote starters, not the ones that work flawlessly, but I too would advise against one. I have just seen too many sloppy installations and system conflicts that cause trouble. Poor connections or cheap parts causing a no-start, or trouble with the security system. When one comes to me with a problem I offer the customer 2 choices–have me remove the system entirely or find a shop that installs these systems and have them replace it.

Unless you car came with a factory option remote start system I wouldn’t do it.

I also strongly advise against any aftermarket remote starter. I gave this same advice to my cousin who is the proud owner of a 2012 Camaro SS. She went ahead and had her boyfriend install one anyway. Short story…3 days later she had to replace the starter and battery in her car. It now looks like she will have to eventually replace a computer in her vehicle as well. Don’t install a remote starter…it’s simply not worth it.

If there was a factory starter for your car, then have the dealer install one for you.