Rear bumper on Toyota Camry scratched in accident

I was sitting at a red light last week and got rear ended by another car going 10-15 mph.

The impact left three significant scratches on the bumper that went down to the base. It rained all weekend and water has gotten underneath the scratches and some of the paint has begun to peel off.

How much do you think it will cost to repair or replace this bumper? I am going through the other person’s insurance policy to get it fixed, but am debating about just pocketing the money instead of fixing it. It’s a 2001 Camry with 125k miles and I am a college student, so if it’s just cosmetic I would just seal the scratches and go on about my business. Thoughts and opinions are appreciated. Thanks!

If you were rear-ended by another vehicle that was traveling at 15-20 mph, the damage is definitely more than cosmetic, even if it might appear to be merely cosmetic to the naked eye.
The car needs to be put on a lift by a qualified body shop in order to determine just how many parts (there will be several…) need to be replaced in addition to the bumper cover.
Most body shops will give you a written estimate–gratis–in the hope of getting your business.

1 Like

Thanks for the comment! I don’t know if it was 15-20 mph, that is just a guess. I was hit in a residential neighborhood when the other person was rolling to a stop, so it may have been like 10 mph. Either way, the car hasn’t driven any differently and the bumper is not cracked or broken.

So assuming it is only cosmetic, about how much do you think it would be to repair that?

It doesn’t matter how much or how little damage is done to the cover, it gets replaced by either a new one or a remanufactured one. Body shops do not repair these, but they do have to repaint them to match the vehicle.

My Saturn was $600. Cost will vary by manufacturer.

Attached is a diagram that shows how your rear bumper is constructed. For parts prices you; dhave to shop the internet.