No brake lights

When I had my oil changed at Wal-Mart and got back my checklist of items looked at, I noticed my brake lights weren’t working according to their report.

Looking at my owner’s manual, a strange coincidence was evident. For several months I’ve had to manually release the shift lever OUT of PARK by lifting the cover plate, and pushing the little plastic lever until it releases it. This happened after a snowstorm, when AAA had to rescue me, and I’d gotten stuck in a drift. (This took several hours). The next afternoon I was again stranded and THIS time at the grocery store when it wouldn’t come out of PARK. Luckily the mechanic KNEW what to do to get it out of PARK and showed me how to do it. I’ve been driving this way for 2 months now.

OK, so…here’s what the owner’s manual indicates.

If the brake lights are out, there’s also a liklihood the shift lever won’t electrically release out of PARK. Geeez!

So I had a mechanic replace the fuse (#24) and presto, NOW I had brake lights…AND…the shift lever worked magically again! How about that?? …more –

The next day the fuse blew again and now I’m back to driving with the cover plate off and using the right index finger to release out of PARK. So here’s my question:

“What can I do to keep the fuse from blowing” It’s a 15A two pronged fuse under the dashboard, and the mechanic who replaced it said if this happened, to go to a diagnostic center he referred me to. They are very, VERy expensive As they charge $99 just to hook up their machine. Who KNOWS what they might charge after that. At least I had the system work for one day, and feel it’s got to be something simple I could fix with your help. PLEASE, P-L-E-A-S-E tell me you (my car GODS) are able to.

Very respectfully,

Dave Loder

Reno, NV