Instrument cluster keeps rebooting

Hi all,I’m a newbie here.A few weeks ago I installed a Sony car stereo in my tractor at work.Everything has been working just fine since then except the other day my instrument cluster started rebooting a lot while I was driving.Like I said,everything was just fine for 2 weeks and then this started happening.

Does it sound like it could be related to the stereo installation or could it be a separate issue altogether?Thanks ahead for any input.

How did you install the stereo? Did you have to do any splicing or was it just plugging into a harness? My first suspect would be the stereo, maybe a wire came loose and is making intermittent connection.

There were wires right behind the faceplate for the stereo that I used.They were not connected to anything ,just dangling free which led me to believe they were the factory wires for the stereo.Also,the speaker wires were already ran there as well.I am pretty positive that these were the original factory wires for a stereo…

I would think if it was the stereo causing it then it would have happened right away.But,like I said,Everything was fine for 2 weeks with no problems.

Unhook the stereo and if that solves the problem then it was installed wrong or something was loose. If that does not make a difference then you will at least eliminated one thing.

I was thinking the same thing.Going to try it tomorrow.

Do you think I’d have to unhook everything(speakers too) to test it or just the switched power,constant power and ground?

If the stereo is related to the issue then just disconnecting the main power to it should be all that is needed. The stereo should be acting up also if it is related to the case. I think the trouble you are having is more related to just a loose power connection to the cluster. Make sure the connections to it are making solid connection. If they are good then check the voltage supply and ground to the cluster.