How in the hell do you get a starter out of a 2001 gmc sonoma 2wd 4.3l

Got the two bolts out. I’ve been trying to get it out for quit a wile though.
It seems like there is not enough space. Does any one have any experience taking them out?
Thanks for your replies.

Remove the splash plate if you haven’t already.

I went online to check. Someone also said to jack the transmission up just a little. Can give up to half inch of clearance.

I’m pretty new to working on cars. The splash plate is the plate with 2 bolts that goes around the entrance of the bell housing there the starter goes in right? I dont know where to start when lifting a transmission…

Do you see this behind your starter?

https://www.ebay.com/i/272942264456?chn=ps&norover=1&mkevt=1&mkrid=711-117182-37290-0&mkcid=2&itemid=272942264456&targetid=595076424368&device=c&mktype=pla&googleloc=9013798&poi=&campaignid=1689407462&mkgroupid=74365777588&rlsatarget=aud-298628318826:pla-595076424368&abcId=1140476&merchantid=118877792&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIgoG34czv4wIVO__jBx1zxAOCEAQYAyABEgIuIfD_BwE

If so I believe there are 4 bolts holding it.

It can indeed be a puzzle to remove a starter. The first time I did it on my Corolla I followed the service manual’s incomplete instructions. Easy enough to unbolt it, but to get it out of the engine compartment I had to remove the passenger side front wheel and the under-engine shield, remove the starter bolts and wires, which dropped the starter into a morass of suspension & cooling system parts, axles, and steering parts; it was locked solid in sort of like a jail cell, all that stuff blocking any attempts to remove it from the engine compartment. Eventually – and this took quite some time of experimenting – I tried turning the steering wheel this way and that and that eventually feed up enough space I could snake it out bit by bit. Turn, snake, turn, snake etc etc. Not a fun job.