How hard is it to work on a front end?

I have recently acquired a very used 1990 Mazda 626. It has a problem with the front end.

I took it to shop that sells tires and oil changes primarily but also does repair work to cars. They diagnosed the front drivers side wheel as needing new steering knuckle and the parts attached to it (not the wheel) The ball joint et al needs to be replaced as well. It appears that some joker worked on this car and did not do the repair work properly.

The steering wheel begins to vibrate above 60 mph, this is because the wheel is able to tow in and out. This is going to destroy the tires but…

They said it would take about 700 dollars to fix. I do not have that kind of money. I’m not a good mechanic but this work needs to get done.

How hard is it to work on the Front end of a car and make these kind of repairs.

I found a place to get a used steering knuckle for about $50. The other parts won’t cost much. Should I and a friend attempt this repair or should I just sell the car an go on with my life. I like the car because it gets great gas milage and has a working a/c.

What do I need to know before starting this kind of project?

It appears that some joker worked on this car and did not do the repair work properly.

if you have some basic wrench turning skills you can do this. you have to buy either a haynes or chiltons manual to get the pertinent info.

BUT… like you said, It appears that some joker worked on this car and did NOT do the repair work properly

do you want to have the tires fall off, or shimmy or be out of alignment, while you are learnign how to do these repairs?

“It appears that some joker worked on this car and did not do the repair work properly.”

After you do the work and sell your car, this is exactly what the next owner will say.