A hard-boiled detective's car upgrade

Stop drooling, friends. I’m a writer with a series of detective stories, so the vintage Malibu is fictional (albeit based on a real car which I almost owned).

The stories are more or less set in the modern day, so that '64 Chevy Malibu’s going to need some work. Let’s say the upgrades were done in 2010. What would need to be done to make such a beast drivable and legal?

I’m assuming engine and transmission would be replaced. What would be your pick for the parts?

I vaguely remember that the gearshift was on the steering column. Would this change?

Any info would be greatly appreciated!

You are writer and don’t know how to do research ?

isn’t asking on a car forum research?

@snide.clem_166582 '64 malibu is completely street legal, as long as it passes emissions. Fictional repairs and upgrades depend on fictional issues and desires (as well as fictional depth of wallet.)

What kind of car is fictional detective looking for? Fast? good cornering? reliable? incognito?

3 Likes

I have a '62 Cadillac as my daily driver. The only changes on this car from stock are radial tires, and a Pertronix electronic ignition kit to eliminate the lousy points and condenser ignition. I would recommend those two upgrades for your fictional detective’s fictional Malibu. While you’re at it, why not give the poor guy something nicer than a Chevy? Perhaps a Buick Special or an Olds F-85.

a 60s era car would likely be exempt from emissions

2 Likes

That car could have come from the factory as a tame 4 door sedan with a 6 and an auto tranny, or a very powerful 2 door hardtop with a high compression V8 and a four on the floor, or anything in between. It could have had hop up options common in the '60s or later, it could have been ‘resto-modded’ with a 2010 drivetrain and suspension, or it could be bone stock.

What do you want it to be?

1 Like