2017 vw golf major misfires flooring it

Hey guys im back with another problem. Just took my car to get serviced (Trans fluid) and the techs took it for a test drive. The guy calls me and is like you know you have major misfires flooring it? This is happened before I got an epc and check engine light. When the tech floored it in D, he said check engine and epc came on and car went into engine limp. Restarted car, and drove fine, he clicked it into manual and floored it without any issues He also told me that it would misfire when he heard the woosh sound, hed step on it after the sound… I have an apr stage 1 tune with a bov adapter installed, tech said it could be the bov adapter causing the misfire as its venting into the air. I was thinking it could also be coil packs, I just replaced the plugs but not the coils. What do yall think?
Also spoke to tune shop, they said not the tune itself causing the issue.
61k miles.

Thanks for the help, I’m still learning here.

If you left the factory spec spark plug gap, you might try reducing it. Start with 0.02 inches or 0.5mm. If it improves it a noticeable amount but doesn’t solve it, go another 0.02. If that doesn’t work, post back.

1 Like

Yeah currently at .28, found mixed info online. Apr has their recommended plugs at .26 might be worth a shot.

Could also be coilpack idk

Could be, but I don’t think ignition coils go bad that often, especially at such low mileage. In fact, I have owned several cars in my lifetime, many with a single ignition coil and distributor, and not replaced an ignition coil/coil pack ever. At the company where I work, we have several Toyota trucks with over 200k miles, some with over 250k miles, none have had ignition coils/coil packs replaced. There is a diagnostic tool which can tell you if the coil/coil pack is bad.

1 Like