2017 gmc acadia limited go or no go

You guys know so much, reviews seem mixed, your thoughts on this vehicle? Has a trailer hitch, all the bells and whistles, 27 miles, 28k price before negotiations, 6 cyl engine. Seats are the big thing for wife with bad back. Thanks in advance.

You couldn’t give me a GM vehicle if I won it in a contest.

Tester

3 Likes

It is surprising to hear that. My 03 was good til it got rear ended, our fleet vehicles have mostly been Gm, a few Fords or Dodges, but the gm seemed to be more reliable.

I agree with @Tester. The only GM vehicle I would take of what’s available now is a Cadillac Escalade, and that’s because I’m a show-off.

Get a pre-purchase inspection by your mechanic, of course.

I like the Acadias, and I would buy a GM before any other domestic. My current daily driver is an 06 Trailblazer. And I’m a mechanic.

But you tow a boat, right? I would still prefer a full frame RWD for towing, but that limits your options.

1 Like

It’s a new vehicle

Yes I tow a boat, it is 2 miles to the launch and 2 miles back. Looked at pickups, but the seats are not comfy or adjustable for wife with a bad back.

My wife was in the market for a new car a couple of years ago, and drove just about everything out there. I have to say, the Lincoln MKX with twin turbo Ecoboost and noise-canceling technology was more fun and quieter to drive than the comparable Cadillac. She made her choice based on what she liked, with no input from me, other than if she chose a Grand Cherokee it would be traded in at 60,000 miles.

Frankly, if it were me, I would have chosen the Lincoln. Even over the Acura or Lexus. It’s that much of a nicer car.

Isn’t the MKX what was briefly the Ford 500 and then Taurus?

No, that’s the MKZ. MKX is the Lincoln brother of the Ford Edge.

I miss good car names. I took my wife on our first date in a Coupe DeVille. Now she drives around in an XT5.

1 Like