2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 - Rides rough

I have a 2017 Silverado rides rough. I feel every bump. I never had a Chevy truck this bad. I have been buying Chevy for over 25 years. Dealer tells me its normal. I don’t think I will buy another Chevy.

So apparently you did not do a test drive .

I am testing a Ford F-150 this week. Here is how I would describe the ride: “Rides rough. I feel every bump.” If you do switch, Try Ram. I have found that Ram trucks generally have the best ride comfort.

1 Like

Did you buy it new or did you just buy it? If you’ve had it for 3 years, did it always ride that way?

Bought it one month ago.

Hmmm, a truck that rides rough, sort of like a truck. Imagine that.

5 Likes

Don’t know if it makes a difference, its the texas edition?

Thanks for your help.

Well , that explains it . You must not live in Texas so you should have purchased the version for your state.

4 Likes

Seems to be a complaint across the board on this generation.the Texas edition comes with the 20" wheels but other then a couple badges there is nothing you couldn’t order otherwise.

1 Like

Yeah, what sire tires/wheels do you have?

The Texas edition has 275/55-20 tires. The standard wheels are 17” or 18” rims. The 18s use 265/65-18 tires. The sidewall height for the 20s is 151 mm and for the 18s, it’s 172 mm. That adds up to a difference of about an inch in sidewall height. The shorter sidewall would contribute to the harsh ride. If there’s no difference in brakes, you probably could get 18” rims and get a softer ride. Maybe you should test drive a Silverado with 18” rims before you buy new rims and tires. The total difference in height between the two is only 9 mm, and you probably don’t need to do anything about the speedometer.