2008 Toyota Corolla creaking noise, possibly from suspension

Dear Click and Clack,

I drive a 2008 Toyota Corolla CE (automatic transmission) that I bought new in November of 2007. It has approximately 15,000 miles on the odometer.

This is the first car I’ve ever owned (I’m 25), so I’m new to this car ownership stuff. I’m extremely meticulous about maintenance.

At 6 months and 5,000 miles, I brought it in to the dealer for its first oil change and Toyota’s recommended 5K servicing. No problems. At 10K miles, I brought it in for the second oil change and 10K service.

Shortly after I picked up my car, I noticed something strange: whenever I put the car in reverse, back up a ways, put my foot on the brake, and move it into drive, there is this bizarre creaking or “clacking” sound as soon as I release the brake. This happens every time I do the above maneuver, without fail. Conditions, the particular location where I execute the maneuver-- none of these variables seem to make any difference, so far as I can tell.

I called my father about this when I first noticed it. He lives in Baltimore and I live in Los Angeles, so he could observe the phenomenon directly, but upon hearing me describe it, he said, “It’s probably normal. Ignore it.” I protested that I had not noticed this noise at all in the first 10,000 miles of driving it, and it seemed to start only after I took it into the dealer for service, but my father assured me that I probably just had been unobservant in those first 10,000 miles.

Recently, I took the car in for its 15K service and 3rd oil change. When I dropped it off, I described the above problem (including that it had only started after I took it in to that dealership for the 10K service), and asked them to take a look at it.

I picked the car up, and they told me that the noise came from the car’s suspension, and that it was perfectly normal and not to worry about it. Contented with this answer, I drove the car off.