2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee interior lights, locks and windows repair

My 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee’s power locks and windows recently stopped working. No switch or button on each of the 4 doors work including locks and windows. This all happened at the same time so I assume it’s faulty wiring or a fuse problem (rather than a motor problem). Also, when the interior lights are set to “AUTO” they all stay on, another reason I think it’s wiring in the door panel. I am not too experienced with car repair, but I feel like this is something I could replace myself instead of paying hundreds for a shop to do it. If someone could provide a detailed explanation of a car’s electric window system and how to fix my issue, that would be highly appreciated.

Check if fuse #12, 50 amp in the fuse box under the hood has blown.

Tester

1 Like

Fuse 12 is not blown, nor is it 50 amps (10amps), also in the owners manual this fuse controls parking lamps and overhead lamps

I hope it’s not some child safety thing switch…

I suppose you have a button on the driver’s side door that turns on/off all door locks. Unless you find a blown fuse, I would focus on the button. Maybe a good tap with the handle of a screwdriver or removing the switch for inspection.

The windows, locks and door ajar switches are controlled by or connected to the drivers door control module. It sounds like drivers door control module is dead/not responding. The control module is part of the drivers door master window switch assembly. Disconnect and reconnect the drivers master switch and see if the windows start working again, sort of a reboot for the module.

If indeed they are all connected to the drivers control module one might look at the wires between the door jamb and car body for a broken wire. First easier check would be to see if the module is getting voltage.

How do you check if it has voltage?

So it’s just a simple unplug/replug thing or do I need to mess with wiring?

Did you find broken wires?