2002 Chevy Silverado 2 wheel drive white truck in Bangor Maine

Dear Car Talk,

I am new to this chat but thought I would just ask you all and see if someone out there knows about Chevy Silverado’s! I want to buy this cute little white truck in bangor Maine. Its 2 wheel, not 4 wheel drive - will it pull the 21 foot seaway boat that is 2000 pounds (approx?!)

Also does anyone love these trucks and would love to spread the love and let me know if its a great truck? or is it trouble?

this particular truck has 47,000 miles, says it runs like new, 6 cylindar.

Thank you!!

The biggest questions when buying a used truck are
(1) how was it used
(2) how was it maintained.

Without knowing those two things it’s a genuine crapshoot.

the truck might be just fine, but pulling a 21’ boat with a 6 cyl. engine? Not a good idea. If this is a short trip kind of thing, perhaps. If you plan on towing the boat 50 miles then not a good idea.

Since it is not a 4X4 you don’t have “low range” so pulling a 21’ SeaRay up a steep launch ramp could be interesting. Not an easy assignment for the transmission.

Here’s the problematic areas of this truck.

1-Intake manifold gaskets.
B-Suspension components.
*-Transmission if automatic.

You couldn’t GIVE me one.

Tester

thank you soooo much for the responses!! so helpful!! great help for us!

ok, we live 2 miles from the ocean and would be ideal to trailer the 21’ seaway seafarer that 2 miles to the ocean. there is a public landing - Lincolnville beach maine. then basically take the boat out of the water and bring it back up the hill home. we cant get a morning yet so we have to trailer it for the rest of the season.
the person that is selling the truck: