Will it last, or will it bust?

Ok so I have a 2006 Chevy Cobalt named Yuki, not that you needed to know that but I LOVE my car. Being that I love him so much (and the fact that I am a poor college student ) getting a new car is not an option at all right now.
It has 146k miles on it, it runs fine, however it has a slow burn of oil; maybe like 1/3 between oil changes when I measured it.

The problem is I need this car to get to my school and obviously around town. My school is in Alabama, I live in Michigan. My Dad swears up and down it will die before I get there, and I swear it will be fine if I take the trip slow.

So part of this is I wanna know who is right, another is I don’t want to get stranded mid-country, and the third is I wanna know, will it last or bust?

Thanks in advance!!!

Do you mean it gets 1/3 of a quart low between oil changes? If so, that’s great!

As for the car, no way to tell from here, do you have a mechanic you trust to look it over? Is the oil changed on the recommended schedule? Are the tires good? How old are they? Is the other maintenance up to date?

This car could be absolutely fine, if all the above checks out.

It’s gotten lower before but yes typically 1/3 low. And yes again to the mechanic, he hasn’t seen anything wrong with it recently.

The tires are a year old and were just rotated

Unfortunately, it is not possible to give you an answer, because the most important factor in a car’s reliability and its durability is its maintenance, and you told us nothing about its maintenance record.
This blind question is the automotive equivalent of asking us how long you might live, but not disclosing anything about your eating habits, or your medications, or your weight, or your exercise regimen, or your immunization record. Do you get my drift?