Why do oil drain plugs fall out?

I’m not a professional mechanic, but I am a mechanical engineer and do my own car repairs. So it’s mystifying to me when I read reports here that “the drain plug fell out,” as just happened to an unfortunate Rav4 owner.

I can understand a drain plug, say, leaking due to crossed or stripped threads. But falling out? That means someone did screw the plug in far enough that it could hold oil for a while, but didn’t tighten it beyond finger tight. How does that happen? Whenever I install a drain plug I have a wrench in my other hand, and tighten it snug. it doesn’t take much torque to keep the darn plug from falling out, since there’s roughly zero force on the thing.

So how does this happen? Are oil change monkeys so badly trained, distracted, or whatever, that they put a drain plug in by hand and forget to put a wrench on it? Is it that simple?

Maybe some of you pros out there have insight as to how this happens with apparent frequency. Please discuss.

Because nobody respects mechanics. Not customers, not managers, not even other mechanics. I can’t tell you how often someone will walk right into a shop and start talking to a mechanic working on a car. The sheer stupidity of that is lost on someone, yet they would never dream of going to a restaurant, walking right into the kitchen and telling the cook what he wants for dinner.

“Hey Joe, this lady has a question about the brake job you did yesterday.” “I’m busy doing this oil change. She can wait.” “No, she’s a good customer and she’s in a hurry, come talk to her.”

“Hey Joe, give me a hand here, this transmission’s falling off the jack, I’m gonna lose it!!” “Yeah, I’ll be there as soon as I finish this oil change.” “Now dammit, I need help!”