Just a rant

Was going through a move and job change and a 1500 mile per week commute, so just because I was very busy had to take both the cars to the mechanic for oil change. 1st one is still under the 100KM warranty, so took it to the dealer and the 2nd one went to the local mechanic-not a quick lube place.

Now back to a more normal schedule and changed the oils myself over the past two weekend. On both cars the drain plug and the oil filter were tightened so hard that I had to use all the tricks I knew to take them off. The drain plugs required a torsion bar. One oil filter is crushed but finally came out. Not to mention all the scratches I have. What is wrong with these people. Why don’t they come up with a standard way of doing this. As a back yard mechanic I have never had anything come loose-knock on wood, also never struggled to take anything off that I tightened myself. I wonder what happens to regular peoples’ cars when they go to these places every 3-5 KM. No wonder the manufacturers keep extending the intervals, just to keep the car away from these type of assault.

Feel better now!

Why don’t they come up with a standard way of doing this.

There is a standard/correct way. It involves using a torque wrench. Very few people do it that way. I admit I do my by feel, but I know I am close and I have never had a problem yet (over 40 years of car ownership)

There is a tendency to over-tighten to avoid having it come loose. Of course that does not consider the possible damage of over doing it.

I guess you need to do it yourself or go to Jiffy Lube. :wink:

I guess these businesses would rather you be angry about over-tightening than have to pay for a new engine because a drain plug fell out or an oil filter fell off.

jtsanders is the first person I’ve ever seen recommend Iffy Lube on this website.