What's the difference between gas cleaner, carburetor cleaner, injector cleaner?

Walmart sells its gas cleaner or injector cleaner for 97¢, injector & carburetor cleaner for $1.88; the prices for the STP are similarly proportional; the prices for the Gumout brands inverse. I’m no expert, but I always thought these were the same stuff with a different label. They list the same ingredients (‘petroleum distillates’ - not specific) and promise to clean similar surfaces.

When I re-built my carburetor earlier this year, the first time in 30 years, it looked clean. I didn’t even see varnish. I have used gas cleaner or carb cleaner about every year, but I expected some gunk to have accumulated.

If you use Top Tier gasoline, you don’t have to use those additives.

http://www.toptiergas.com/

Most gas stations sell Top Tier gasoline.

Tester

You don’t need these additives unless you’re trying to deal with an operating problem on an old engine.
And you don’t need Top Tier gasoline either. I’ve run engines for hundreds of thousands of miles without problems on regular gasoline of the octane required by the owner’s manual.

One thing I do is to avoid stations that have very little business, and I fill up when the tank reaches half empty. That mixes whatever gets pumped in with the known good gas that’s in there. I have no way of knowing if it’s actually prevented any problems, but I’ve never had any fuel problems so I’ll call it superstition. But it’s worked for me for over 1/2 century.

2 Likes

if you drive 6-8-10-cylinders, TSB, then I can absolutely agree that likely you would notice not much difference if you engine is in top performance or not

my experience with “top tier” gas comes from my history running exclusively 4-bangers, mostly in 1.8-2.5 liters range… other there you really count every horse in a stable and feel if your engine is not at its peak