Weird wiper experience

Last night I noticed that one of my wiper blades had come off the end of the arm and was just lying at the base of the windshield. I was able to reattach it and it seems to be on there firmly but that was also the case a couple of months ago when they were first installed. Anyway, is this even remotely common? I can tell you it’s never happened to me in nearly 50 years of driving. I consider myself lucky it didn’t fall off onto the street somewhere so I didn’t have to buy another blade. If it makes a difference, they’re RainX blades and this is my first time using that brand. It may also be my last if this happens again.

You’re more lucky that you didn’t run the empty arm across your windshield and most likely leave an unrepairable gouge. I certainly wouldn’t take a chance with the existing blade again. In fact, I wouldn’t have switched away from the OEM blades in the first place, to be honest.

I had a 26" Rainex blade break its mount in a dounpour at 75 mph. The windshield was so wet that the arm did not immediately damage the windshield and I shut off the wiper and pulled over on the interstate… We ere in a rural area and the nearest parts store that I knew of was about 30 miles away. <y van had a forward park position that made it easy to change blades or clean the windshield so I just put the bare arm forward with the bare arm doing arcs in the air while the other blade cleaned my side of the windshield.

I’ve never had that happen. Because of the weird attachment on the Pontiac, I only buy the OEM blades (refill and blade). But then I put the old ones in the trunk. On the Acura I just buy the OEM refills so no attachment issue. While the blades and refills are about $25 each, I don’t seem to get the same sometimes uneven wiping like I used to get with the Trico stuff.

The only time I have ever had a wiper blade separation was when I made the mistake of buying Rain-X blades. I will never buy that brand again because of that incident.