Wear and tear on vehicles tires

So I took the rav4 22k miles and the 2017 Acadial limited 33k miles in for oil changes this week. Both the toyota dealer and the GMC dealer were like your tires look like brand new and your car looks so great. I casually said well I don’t do burnouts any more, but it seemed odd that I got the same comment from 2 different dealers, What’s the deal with that? Do people abuse their cars or what?

Just their way of saying, “Dang we can’t sell you any tires”

7 Likes

Meant to say wear and tear cannot correct @cdaquila edit never mind got it

You must be a gentle driver compared to what they usually see.

My wife drives a 2018 Cadillac XT5. She’s been working from home for the last 18 months so the car hasn’t had much use lately. But at 34,000 miles the tires are worn enough that I’m already contemplating replacement. I doubt they’ll make the 40,000 mile mark.

1 Like

Well I suppose I am a gentle driver, wife speeds up for stop signs, but what is not a gentle driver that wears out tires so fast?

I think my original Michelins lasted 30K before I thought they should be replaced. I think they were in the yellow not red but winter was coming.

Tire wear can depend on so many things. Road surface ( I have to use one road the could be called tire sandpaper ) - how many turns one does on expressways - number of times steering wheels are turned without moving - and lack of tire rotation .

Besides what dealer is going to say your vehicle looks like crap when they might want you to think your vehicle will bring top dollar tradein.

Given we’ll always have a subset of folks who deliberatly abuse their vehicle, I think that what’s changed is that because modern vehicles require so little maintenance, there’s a sense that they require no maintenance at all. “Check my tire pressure or tread wear? Naw, I’ve got TPMS to do that.”