Tire Durability

I’m new to this so have patience. What does everybody think about how many miles a set of appropriatley matched tires should last on a recent 4 door luxury sedan under average conditions/driving habits and no mechanical issues? Mine started to show signficant wear at 15,000 miles. RobG

A lot depends on the tire. What make and model (tire and car)? H or V rated?

If it’s front wheel drive, the front tires will wear much faster than rear. My rear tires hardly wear at all. Overall I’d expect about 60-70K miles out of all of them. But I rotate front to back every 20K miles or so. I also drive a 2,500 pound car. Some nice sedans are 4,000 pounds.

Tire tread durability varies considerably.
The variables include whether the tire is considered to be a “sport” type tire, whether the OP is careful about checking and correcting tire inflation on a regular basis, whether the tires have been rotated, how hard the OP corners the vehicle, and even how much of a load the vehicle typically carries.

If the OP would reveal the details regarding the make and model of the tire and the car, that would be helpful. Additionally, I would be interested in knowing the wear rating number that appears on the tire’s sidewall.

At this point, there are too many unknowns to be able to comment with any real value, IMHO.

Tires can be designed to get good grip, or good wear, or good fuel economy, but they can’t be designed to be good at all 3. For example, OE (Original Equipment) tires, aren’t designed for good wear. They’re designed for good fuel economy - and that means sacrificing wear.

So depending on what your tires were designed to do, 15K might be a good number.

You didn’t tell us what tires you have and you didn’t tell us what “signficant wear” actually means. It’s hard to help without basic details.

I always get good mileage from my tires. With Goodyear 15" I used to get over 90,000 with a full sized Olds. Never had a tire I didn’t get at least 60,000 with.