VW Beetle Convertible 2003 - Transmission

I bought my first new car in 2003 - a VW Beetle Convertible. I realize it looks like a clown car, but I loved it and thought it would be a great addition to my new life in Los Angeles (having moved from NYC). The car has been great over the years, with minimal problems, and I’ve been good about taking it in for scheduled maintenance.

A few years ago, I noticed an occasional lurching feeling around 15-20 mph, but it was only every now and then. I told my mechanic at VW, and he said they didn’t notice it at the shop. A few months ago, that lurching feeling came back full force. I’m no expert, but it seemed like a transmission issue, which was confirmed by my mechanic at VW. He says I need a new one.

Now I’m stuck. The car (transmission aside) is in good condition, and after seven and a half years of LA-driving, only has 40,000 miles on it. I don’t really want to sell it - but is that my best option? Do I trade it in for a down payment and lease a car? Or do I cough up all that cash and get a new transmission? It’s not a good situation! Help please!!

I would try to avoid leasing any car. That is the most expensive way of owning wheels.

I would suggest having an independent shop check it. That is, not a VW shop and not a chain shop like the quick lube places.

When you get things straightened out, make a point of having the transmission fluid change and the filter changed every 30-40,000 miles. That is the one maintenance item that breaks my rule of “Doing all the maintenance items listed in the car’s owner’s manual and no more.”

As for what to do next, give us another day or two. There are some people who know automatic transmissions much better than I, look for “transman” The bad news is that I seem to recall there was a problem with VW automatics about that time. There may even have been a recall.

Good Luck

Thank you so much for getting back to me!