Volkswagon passat

Please help! My ABS and brake lights are on simultaneously. The brakes are fine according to my Express Oil people- What do I do? Im afraid to go to a dealership (single woman ) but I have heard that is simply means my abs system does not work and I can still drive it.

You believe the Express Oil people but you’re afraid of the VW dealer? I think you have things backward.

You don’t have to go to the dealer, but you should take the car to a mechanic, preferably one who is familiar with VWs.

There are no such mechanics at Express Oil. You really should stay away from those places. We read horror stories all the time about cars damaged or destroyed by the kids at quick-change oil places.

Thank you. I appreciate your reply. Actually, the manager at Express Oil looked at the brakes and then adviced me to take to the dealership. My fear is that being a single woman I will be over charged or in some way taken advantage of. . .I have had plenty of these experiences in the past that have made me a little hesitant to visit dealerships. Can I drive it in this condition? Will having another reputable shop put it on diagnastic machine be OK?

Once again McP has given you excellent advice.

Ask yuor friends, family, and the people you work with who they use for a shop and whether they trust them. Im sure the name of some independently owned and operated shop will pop up. And after they fix the brake problem you’ll have a better place to get those oil changes done.

Unless your owner’s manual clearly says that these lights mean that the brakes are functional and only the ABS is not, you’d better have this checked out right away. Don’t take the word of a quick-lube place.

Thank you all for responding. I just finished asking a co-worker, another single woman, she told me of a shop she trusts, I called and will be driving car (slowly and cautiously) to shop first thing Monday morning.