To Sell or not to Sell my Hybrid?

Help! Please tell me what to do…

I’m a poor social worker, trying to figure out how to cut back expenses, and it seemed at one point that my car could be the ticket, but I might have missed the boat. Or car. Whatever.

Here’s the situation: I have a 2005 Honda Civic Hybrid with about 30,000 miles on it. When I bought it, new, I had just returned from living for a year on a low-paying nonprofit job in Guatemala, and I thought I’d be rolling in dinero and be able to handle the car payments no problema. I did some research, and feeling green, I thought I’d buy a hybrid, and since there weren’t any used hybrids on the market at the time, I bought new. But I soon found out that life is not greener on this side of the Rio Grande. I’m broke. I live paycheck-to-paycheck, and often bounce checks by the end of the month. It sucks. About a year ago, it occurred to me that I’d have an extra $309 a month if I could sell my car, pay off my loan, and buy a cheaper used car, which I should have bought in the first place. I think I only need something simple but reliable - I drive about 9,000 miles a year. I have about an 8-mile commute, and also drive around to my sporting events (hockey - field and ice) and up to visit Ma and Pa in Wisconsin once in a while.