2007 Honda Civic keep or sell?

Hello, I am new to this forum. I have a 2007 Honda Civic Hybrid with 175K miles. It has 2 broken engine mounts and I unfortunately found this out just three months after making a lot of fixes (radiator, transmission mount, thermostat, and a couple of hoses). I am debating whether to sell it (and if so, privately or by trade-in) or fix it. Suffice to say I feel like an idiot for doing all that work in the summer and I should have moved on to a new car then!

It will cost somewhere between $700-900 to fix the mounts (I haven’t totally shopped around, but this based on 2 estimates).

I am looking at a certified pre-owned Camry which is so appealing and had I not done all the repairs in the summer this would be a no-brainer. But I was sent into panic mode and went with the dealer’s recommendations, and the large sum spent compels me to fix it and keep it (but I’m concerned some other big problem will pop up soon).

I know that driving with the broken engine mounts could do damage to other parts of the car. I know I have to decide soon.

Current average KBB values: $2853 private, $990 trade-in. I have never sold a car privately before, and I have a current trade-in offer of $1200.

The money that you spent recently is called a “sunk cost”. It’s in the past; you can’t do anything about it.

Replacing the engine mounts is still far less than the value of the car. Shop around; those sound like dealer prices, and you have no reason to take this car to the dealer for the repairs.

Does the Civic still met your needs? Is it otherwise in good shape? If so… I don’t see why you’re looking to get rid of it.

“Big problems” can pop up with any car. All things being equal, it’s usually a better idea to stick with the car you have rather than panic and dive into a new to you car that may have just as many known (or unknown) issues.

Good luck.

2 Likes

you have a 11yr old, $3k car?
a 2-3 yr old camry is better. lower odds of failures.