Thinking of buying a Wrangler

I am a 26-year-old soon-to-be-married teacher. Next summer, after my fiance’ and I are married, we plan to move around the country for a while before finding a place to set down permanent roots. Two of our planned temporary residences include Colorado and California.

My current car is a 1999 Honda Accord with around 140K miles. It still runs well because I take good care of it, but it is looking worse and worse. My future sister-in-law has a newer model (2003 or later, I think) Jeep Wrangler that she loves, and after one ride in it with the top down I shared her sentiments. It’s such a fun vehicle, and she swears by it’s reliability and ease of driving.

Down to the nitty-gritty: For the kind of atmospheres I plan on moving (cold in Colorado, hot in California), is a Jeep Wrangler a good idea for a purchase? I have never owned a Jeep and know relatively little about them, except that I am now jealous of the fun my future sister-in-law has in hers!

Glad to hear your future sister-in-law has had such good luck with her Wrangler.

Consumer Reports rates the Wrangler’s reliability as “much worse than average,” and the '06-'08 models are on their list of “used cars to avoid.” Keep that in mind, and do some research on this issue before you sign anything.

Having said that, a coworker leased one about a year ago and he absolutely loves it. He’s wanted a Jeep for a long time, and he finally got one. He’s a happy camper.

I’d never consider buying one myself, but I don’t see why you shouldn’t buy one if it’s what you really want. Do it now while you’re young. When you get older all that bouncing around, wind, and noise won’t be so appealing.

As far as the Colorado cold and the California heat, there is an optional hardtop. I wouldn’t want to go through a Colorado winter without a hardtop. Unless you’re in the non-mountainous part of Colorado, in which case it probably doesn’t matter.