Tacoma with P0500 code and spedo not working

I am new to working on a Tacoma so I just want to run this by the experienced folks here and get their comments.

This is a 03 Tacoma with 4WD, Auto Trans and V6 engine. The speedo stopped working a few days ago and codes P0446 and a P0500 were pulled. No shifting problems were noticed.

The P0500 is the A sensor on the output speed sensor.
The P0446 is an evap system issue.

I found the speed sensor on the rear right side of the transmission and noticed one of the three wires is broken. The Blue wire specifically.

The connector alone is not available…or at least I could not locate it and ordered the entire wiring harness assy from the dealer. This assy connects to 2 or 3 other sensors or terminals.
The harness assy goes to the top of the transmission and i loose sight of were it goes from there. It was even too hard to feel around with out removing stuff.
My questions are these:

Is it much easier to cut out the good connector and splice it in place verses a potential struggle to remove and install the new factory wiring harness assy as intended?
Once it is installed and IF the problem is NOT solved…should I expect the VSS be the next logical part to replace? Since it is shifting ok should I assume the sensor is working.

I’d just patch the broken wire. Be sure to use the correct crimp connectors and wire. There are lots of youtube videos available.

You could use the twist and tape method for a temporary fix to see if that solves the problem, but go back and do it correctly later.

If the wire exiting the connector is broken where you can see it… and it WAS because you posted that. Just fix the wire.