Sunroof

2004 Toyota Highlander. Yes I am a woman. So lie to me if you want to I can take it. LOL.

Sunroof broken 2 years ago. I took it to my local Toyota dealership. They took it apart said the “gears” were stripped. They told me they shut the “motor” off so I couldn’t open it. It opened fine just wouldn’t close without he-man strength. They gave me the white plastic gear and told me if I went to another dealership just to show them what I needed. I’m a travel nurse so I wasn’t “home” long enough for them to fix it. I’ve put it off, as you can see, for 2 years. Today I go to another dealership and they say the motor is “broke”. I tell them the power has been shut off to motor. Then the guy goes back into the shop and comes back to tell me yes they “connected” the motor and it opens the sunroof but it won’t close it. I said yes I know that. You have to take it apart and see that it needs that gear and the corresponding cable. He says NO the motor is broke. That was $414 and the gear and cables are $600+ and then he tells me I will need a new frame at $1800. But they aren’t sure until they take it apart. And for this I paid $85. So my question is? Did they see me as a legit customer or a woman? BTW I asked for Mobil 1 motor oil, for the oil change and the guy at the desk asked me do you want synthetic. Should that have been my first clue? Should I take it to a sunroof dealer I just keep the SOB closed for the life of the truck. 40K on it so it’s out of warrantee…eeeeeeeeeeeeee

Take it to another repair shop, as obviously those toyota dealers are qualified. Yes! the tip-off was the oil question.

The repair price at an independent shop may or may not be less. I doubt there are generic parts for the sunroof, so they will have to get genuine Toyota parts, which will keep the cost high.

I ALWAYS try to avoid dealers for any type of work on vehicles, and I recommend this to everyone.