Stripping paint advice

white ford fiesta 2007. hi my paint chipped and was starting to bubble on the panel above my back window (about a 30 cm patch ). I sanded it down and re sprayed it but i messed it up on the edging and the colour is slightly more cream that bright white so ive decided to remove the patch and just strip and respray the whole panel which will look a lot neater. My question is: what is the easiest way to remove paint manually . what sandpaper do u suggest etc. also, can i use a sponge and rub with acetone - will this remove paint quicker. thank you in advance118244272_2766894666892767_7947422740945678145_n

I am not a painting professional. Just want to be upfront about that.
I would say do not use acetone. The acetone could get into the sealant around your window and cause problems.
I would start with 100 grit sandpaper with a sanding block then move up to finer grit as the paint comes off. Even by hand, the 100 grit might leave scratches that will show. Just take it slow and careful.

1 Like

There are special gel paint strippers available to remove car paint but they can be messy.A corse sandpaper is what I use all the time.

1 Like

Why strip it? Why not just prep it to receive the new paint?

2 Likes

Sand it smooth with 400 grit wet-and-dry sandpaper… the black stuff.

Spray primer-sealer over the entire panel you are painting. Paint.

Your paint didn’t match because A) Your paint faded (unlikely with white paint) or B) You bought paint you thought would match in a spray can from the hardware or home center store.

If it is B), don’t use that type of paint. It will not hold up on a car and it will not match (as you found out). Buy car paint from someplace like this… https://expresspaint.com/

They also have tips, FAQs and videos to help you.

2 Likes

Yeah, this is likely.