Should I Purchase A 2012 or Wait for a 2013?

Hi Everyone,

I find myself being so inept at the MATH of selecting a car.

I’m about to purchase a Toyota Prius V OR a Honda CRV (still on the fence). I want to purchase a Prius V but understand that they are terrible in the rain and snow. That may make me go for a Honda CRV.

Typically, I keep my cars for 10+ years (until they drop dead) so resale value is not a consideration for me. However, IF I choose a CRV, I will likely keep it for 3-4 years and then trade it in for something with much better gas mileage. I can not lease a car because I am a Realtor and put waaaay too many miles on it each year.

They are having all of the “great” mid-year deals now. If I choose a Prius V, I will go ahead and purchase a 2012 (because I will keep it for a decade). If I decide to purchase a CRV, what formula should I consider in terms of the resale value. Even if I get it for $2000 less than a 2013, it will be considered 1 year older when I do to trade it in.

How do you make a decision on this?

THANK YOU so, so much for your help!!!

you can make the Prius a bit better in bad weather by buying another set of rims and tires for it. Though you’ll lose out on some of those MPGs they tout.

If you eliminate the ‘empty the house’ job, then the Prius V would work well with @bscar2 's idea - winter tires on a separate set of wheels. As for 2012 vs. 2013, as long as you get a bit of a discount on the CRV I wouldn’t worry much about that decision.

The difference in cost between a 2012 and 2013 EX FWD CR-V is about $600. That’s far less than the likely difference in depreciation. I’d get the 2013.

The 2012 CRV, deeply discounted over a 2013 model is probably the better deal, unless the CRV is getting a MAJOR makeover in 2013 which will make the older models depreciate faster…

No major changes for 2013, and I was assuming a big discount on the 2012 to make up for much of the depreciation, so that’s why I wouldn’t worry about the year.