Does Anyone Have a 2012 Prius V?

Hi Wonderful Car Talk Community!!! You all are always sooooooo helpful!!!

I am on the cusp of purchasing a new car.

My Toyota Corolla has 210,000. The check engine and air bag lights are on and my mechanic has explained that the issue with the check engine light can not be fixed. Therefore, the car will not pass its next State inspection. I wish I could wait for the late 2014 re-design of the Toyota Corolla wagon but it looks like I can’t.

I need a hatchback this time. I am a Realtor and have to shlep a lot of signs. I also have to have space for my father’s wheel chair. Further, I have to clean out 50 years worth of stuff from his house. The regular compact hatchbacks (Focus, Matrix, Impreza), etc. do not have enough space. This is the only reason I am deciding between two much bigger vehicles (the Prius V and the Honda CRV).

I would definitely lean towards the Prius V because of the 16 mpg difference in its favor but have CONTINUOUSLY heard that it is very unstable in heavy rain and snow. I am a nervous-Nellie driver so that concerns me.

I realize that the Prius V has only come out this year so no one has likely encountered too much snow yet. However, if you have one, would you please give me its pros and cons and please definitely address its performance in the rain and snow.

Thanks again so, so much for your time!!!

Where do you live? For what you describe, I’d be more inclined to give the CRV a look, both for foul weather and carrying lots of loads (dad’s house).

I suspect that the low rolling resistance tires may have something to do with road handling in wet conditions. If you really need to drive when it snows or in heavy rain, consider a Subaru Outback.