Can Anyone Make a Case For A Honda CRV Or Toyota RAV 4 Over A Prius V?

My Beloved “Car Decision Therapists,”

You have been TOLERATING me for the past 8 months while I indecisively and obesessively vascilate back and forth!!! God bless you all!!! I GREATLY appreciate you!!!

As a reminder…I have a 2003 Toyota Corolla with just shy of 240,000 miles on it. The check engine and air bag lights are on. Apparently, 10 codes are behind the lights. A conservative estimate for repairs is $3700. The current tags will expires on March 31. The car will not pass inspection. I definitely will be buying a new car.

I am a Realtor. I drive TONS around the Washington, DC beltway showing property - often 150 miles per day. I need the cargo space of something like a small crossover or wagon to haul around real estate signs, home staging supplies/small furniture, my 93 year old father’s wheel chair and things from his house that I need to take to the dump/thrift stores/etc. after him living in the house for 50 years.

I have narrowed my selection down to a Honda CRV (and may go ahead and test drive a Toyota RAV 4) or a Prius V. All things seem to be about equal. They cost about the same ($25,000). They have approximately the same cargo space (except the CRV has a “lower floor” which is good for carrying taller items). Their are about the same number of pros and cons for each. The Prius V gets approximately DOUBLE the gas mileage in city driving than the CRV (and most of my driving is through small neighborhoods). I tend to keep my cars until they drop dead but everyone says the Prius lasts for 200,000 miles without problems.

With the above being said, the obvious choice should be the Prius V. However, I’m about to say something TOTALLY STUPID AND SUPERFICIAL!!! The Prius V is just soooooooo UGLY!!! Therefore, I’m checking with YOU to ask if anyone can make an intelligent case for a CRV over a Prius V? If not, Prius V it will be!!!