Pre-Purchase Inspections - New Strategy

Hi all!

I’m a college student and a lifelong auto enthusiast. Because I had a difficult experience scheduling a PPI, I’m starting a network of specialized inspection technicians.

All of our technicians work full-time in the field and travel to the vehicle’s location. Most importantly, we care about brand specialty - for example, only an experienced BMW technician will inspect a BMW.

Basically, we’ll give you a directory of technicians who can become your personal mechanic for a car purchase.

Does this seem like a valuable service? What are your major concerns? Do you see anything I could improve about the process?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Also, feel free to respond on this thread if you prefer to do so.

I have a fried that does this as well as searches for the “right” used car for you. He specializes in BMW’s. He’s doing pretty well at it. There IS a market for that service.

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback. As far as you know, has your friend found issues with expanding the service because of the BMW brand specialty? Wondering how difficult it is to enter a new geo with extremely specific requirements.

Why limit your market to pre-purchase inspections? Around here half of the purchase inspections we do are post-purchase, meaning “I bought a car this weekend and need to bring it in to see what’s wrong with it.” Even had one guy last month that needed a tow truck because his new used car broke down on the way home.

He stayed relatively local - southern part of the state, 3 large metro areas - because of family issues but he was well known in BMW circles.The market he was in was large enough to keep him busy. He did more than just BMWs but the bulk was the roundel crowd.