Posting all day long

I’ve been on vacation this week, so I’ve had more free time and have been more active here than usual. But I was just wondering, many of you regulars here seem to post fairly regularly throughout the day. Don’t you have jobs?

My company allows (and at one point even encouraged) limited personal Internet use. The computer software I develop takes about eight minutes to start up for testing, so I can usually check out a few web sites while I’m waiting on that.

I post only at work ( where I have research avenues ), never at home. That’s why you’ll see long periods of no posts when I get busy. ( no posts when I’m off )

I’m retired.

I’m also retired.

But I was just wondering, many of you regulars here seem to post fairly regularly throughout the day. Don't you have jobs?

Many of us have jobs that require us to work with a computer all day long. I’m a software engineer manager. If I’m not in a meeting…then I’m at my desk on my computer. And many times in a meeting I’ll have my laptop. It’s IMPOSSIBLE to do my job without a computer.

It’s not like I’m on every minute. I do plenty of work (50+ hours a week). But there are lull times where I spend 1-2 minutes doing something mindless…like post on the this web site.

I’m another retired guy, but that doesn’t mean that I sit around just surfing the 'net!
After my A.M. yard work, I did some painting inside the house, and then I went for my power-walk. Now, I am back home, and am back online while I eat my lunch.

I only post at home, but I have a 9/80 schedule, so I get every other Friday off (today), plus I get off work at 3:30, plus I get a fair amount of of holidays because I’m a civil service mechanic

My bosses know I’m under-utilized, efficient, and that I get my work done.

Also, I’ve gotten some useful information here about automotive issues related to work.

I’m semi-retired and check the posts every day when I can. I don’t always post my own comments.

I’m taking the 5th: