Please Help! Not too sure what's wrong with my car

I have a 96 gs eclipse and I can’t get it into gear. Its a manual. When it’s not turned on I can get it into gear but when its on I can’t. My clutch pedal seems strange like really loose maybe? I placed the pedal all the way to the ground and it wont change gears…I tried to pushed it as far down as possible and once barely changed gears…There was no sound before this (although when I push the clutch down I do hear a…maybe a grinding noise? BUT it did that before and had no problems)…If I start it while its in 1st or 2nd etc it will go…Please help!! I don’t know where it’s my clutch, clutch link?, tranny or something else? Please help I’m a college student and this is my only car.

*some one said clutch slave cylinder or clutch master cylinder or fluid leak? Is this correct…I just dont want to replace something I don’t have too. …I can’t afford to replace 20 things if you know what I mean.

Do you feel any pressure on the clutch pedal as you push it with your foot? If you do not feel any pressure or very little pressure, that could point to a clutch slave or master cylinder problem. When it comes to those 2 parts it’s advisable to replace both at the same time if at all possible because often what happens is that the one not replaced will fail soon afterwards.

If the pedal still feels at least somewhat normal as to pressure then the clutch assembly may be due for replacement.
One thing you must not do is continue to drive the car while forcing it into gear, grinding gears, and so on. That is going to create transmission problems which may or may not go away once the clutch issue is fixed. Hope that helps.

Maybe a little bit of pressure but not much at all.

Have you checked the fluid level in the clutch master cylinder?

Tester