One million miles in five years

And you think YOU drive a lot! And on the original drive train:

One way to think of this - it average 100 miles per hour, if she just drove 8 hours a day, with 2 weeks off each year.

Iā€™ve driven over 1 million miles. But it took me about 40 years.

As the 21st century began Hyundai was establishing itself as a brand to be reckoned with and my history with them led me to consider that their automobiles were greatly under rated by the public. About 15 years ago I worked on a Sonata with 400,000 miles driven on an RFD route that had never required towing and the owner seemed confident the car had thousands of more reliable miles left in it. Dollar for dollar I put the Hyundai brand ahead of Subaru and Volvo and certainly all domestic brands. And the 2 dealerships that I have dealt seemed to deserve their great reputations. The most amazing thing in the story is the 200,000/ year put on that car. I have some experience with delivery routes and 75,000/year was a difficult 12+ hours a day Monday through Friday ordeal. Driving 7 days each week would still require 555 miles each day and thatā€™s mentally and physically a grind that few could survive for long. Does the lady deserves more praise than the car.

Hyundai [ ] came away impressed. I am, too.

Hyundai Motor America Chief Marketing Officer Dean Evens said, ā€œReaching one million miles with the original powertrain in just five years is an extremely rare and incredible achievement.ā€

Makes it sound like Hyundai was surprised, which isnā€™t the right marketing strategy ā€“ should be more chest thumping: ā€˜We knew it was that great and this proves itā€™

2 Likes

Well, I am AMAZED that any car could reach 1 million miles on its original powertrain, so Iā€™ll cut Dean some slack.