Number of keys on a (new Malibu) car ring. (9 too many!)

The brothers answered a question that a woman borrowing her dads car (a new Malibu) should not have 9 keys on her key ring. I don’t agree. While this was a problem in the 70-90’s, you could wear down a GM key and literally pull it out while the car was running, I don’t believe with todays modern columns and ignition switches, that nine keys are problem. I’ve been working on cars since 1970 and ingnition switches have changed! I have a Acura with 150K and many keys and I have zero problem!

I would think there is plenty of evidence lately that GM has not improved their ignition switches.

3 Likes

I have one ignition key and one house key on my ring. Fob and four other keys are on a separate ring.

Too many keys might not be a problem but would it not be considered foolish to take a chance and kill yourself or someone else.

I think that too many keys and other stuff on a key ring for any automobile is a problem. Perhaps the best thing about the starter buttons that are all the rage now is that there are no keys to insert and damage the ignition mechanism.

You can carry as many keys in your pocket as it can hold, the “new” Malibu has a keyless ignition.

That conversation in the show may have been 20 years ago.

1 Like

I guess the show is all reruns so its not a push start Nevada. JTSanders how are 9 keys on your keychain going to kill you or someone else? I’ve had more than 9 keys on my keychain for the last 20 years…

Well, good for you. There have been incidents where too many keys have actually turned the vehicle off. Just because you have not had a problem does not mean it can’t happen. Basically you are making statements that don’t apply to every vehicle. An inexperienced driver faced with no power and heavy steering and brakes could be a fatal situation. Give up.

1 Like

I sure hope so, since Tom died back in 2014.

1 Like