New to building and have a few questions

I’m new to building cars and have a basic understanding of engines and etc. I have a 2012 chevy cruze 1.4 L with a manual transmission. I bought this car in hopes of making it some kind of sleeper build. The issues I’m having is finding aftermarket parts, and what parts I should upgrade. Currently I’m wanting to get a better turbo set up. My current factory set up the turbo is integrated with the exhaust manifold. My question is, is it possible to just get straight pipe headers and put a turbo into later? Is there a better turbo exhaust manifold out there?

Found a company that caters to this platform and engine and it looks like the upgraded turbo’s a bolt on affair.

1 Like

Welcome to the CarTalk forum… but it isn’t really populated with many modification and performance minded folks. If you are looking for Cruze specific help, search for a Cruze specialty forum. It will get you in touch with people who have actually modified one and can advise you. We can give general advice but I don’t think any of the regulars even own a Cruze.

That said, you have a few problems you might not be considering. Your turbo 138 HP four may be capable of more power, but at what cost? Parts are expensive, as you can see from the link @wolyrobb gave you. $1100 for a bigger turbo and manifold. To make use of that, you will need a bigger intercooler, the turbo-tune for the ECU, I’d suggest an E85 upgrade kit, and a bigger fuel pump, injector set, the big downpipe and a full exhaust with cat for starters.