Nash metropolitan

I have fallen in love with the nash metropolitan and am considering buying a fully restored one for minor recreational fair weather driving --is this a terrible idea or can i do it? I have no car repair experience myself but am willing to try. my husband restored a '69 jaguar e-type but is not particularly interested in working on mine but would probably be of some help if needed. what do you think?

my ONLY concern with this is finding parts. thats it. older cars are easier to work on then new ones. period. since your husband restored a Jag, I think your in good hands (assuming you can get him to help).

There is nothing high tech or complicated about maintaining a Nash Metro. It is a simple car. Parts could pose a problem but there are active “owners” groups dedicated to this car. If you hook up with one of them they can lead you in the proper direction if parts are needed.

If you buy it and use it as described it should hold value well. I’d want to keep a car like this in a garage.

There is nothing complicated about a Metropolitan. If you buy a properly restored example it should be very easy to keep it running, and you don’t need much garage space.

A service/repair manual will be a necessity, but that should be easy to find. I don’t even think parts will be much of a problem. These vehicles have a following. Check http://www.hemmings.com for parts sources and information.

It’s extremely important to understand also that in addition to there being nothing complicated about a Nash Metropolitan, there is also nothing SAFE about a Nash Metropolitan!

This is a vehicle extremely ill-equipped for today’s roads. It even has mechanical brakes. It’s better brought to cruise nights on a trailer. It cannot keep up with modern traffic, cannot stop with modern traffic, and if you get hit you’re toast. As long as you understand that it’s a great idea.

Here’s a link you might enjoy: