New to restoration

I came across a 1962 Mercury Meteor sedan being sold for $2,700.00. It starts right up and the owner uses it weekly. The front bumper was ripped off by a passing truck, and the body needs some work. Besides that it does not seem to be in terrible condition. The interior is in really good condition. My question is would this be a good candidate to restore? I am not a mechanic(I am a woodworker), and only have a general knowledge about how cars work. So I need a car that is simple mechanically, and easy to get parts for. If this car is not ideal then what would any of you out there recommend?

This car is similar to a full size Ford of that year, except for some of the trim. Restoration should be no problem; there are many cars like that in car shows. The rocker panels on these cars gave out early and may need replacement.

Any specific Meteor trim items you can’t get can be replaced with Ford equivalents. The V8 engines were common as dirt and any rebuilding should not be difficult.

Awesome thanks. I think this is a V6. But either way I think the price is right.

@gman86 There were no V6 engines in that year; they came much later. I had a 1961 Ford 6; it was a STRAIGT, inline 6 with overhead valves, very easy to work on. Very similar to the “stove bolt Chevy 6”

My brother was married in a 1962 Ford, a very roomy and comfortable car.

If you plan to repair and restore this car, take a few minutes to evaluate and prioritize the needs, write down a budget and timetable to accomplish this, and then rip it up and throw it away.