Mazda MPV 2k - Alternator swapout

I just purchased this vehicle from a private party about a month ago. And now of course something goes wrong. The alternator has gone out on the car (I believe). The red light for the battery came on a few times during the day for my wife. She called me to tell me this as she was driving to a friends. The car died out on the road. They jumped it enough to get it closer to my house (about 4 miles) but it will go no further. My father in law apparently tested it with a battery charger and it seemed the battery was ok. However they couldn’t get it out of the parking lot.

So on to the actual question. I did some research on replacing the alternator myself (I have done several on other cars) and found that this alternator is at the BOTTOM. The directions I found on another forum told me I had to remove the half-shaft (axle?) to even get to it. and the real manual supposedly calls for the exhaust to be unbolted!!!

I am a mechanic by necessity and have delved deep into engines a few times. But does it sound like something I should try to tackle… or possibly cough up the cash.

Has anyone else had to do this on this model?

For reference here are the directions I found elsewhere.