Maximum Joy, Minimal Seep

Hey gang;

I have a couple of questions regarding my 96 Maxima. So far I’m really happy with her and of course want to make her the best she can be. She really is in great shape for 20 yrs and 165k. + miles. I have two “seeps”. I check all the fluid levels at least weekly and have no fluid level loss, but a there are a couple of drops in the driveway. When I get underneath, I can see seepage around the oil pressure switch, which is very accessible. I feel pretty confident I can replace it myself. Other than making sure the threads are clean and using teflon tape on the new switch, is there anything else I should look out for? The other seep is coming from the power steering return side. I’m by no means a mechanic, so I’m wondering if this is one to leave to a pro. Any other recommendations about OEM vs. aftermarket, what brands you trust, etc. would be greatly appreciated. Hope everyone has a beautiful holiday season.

Oil leaking from the oil pressure sending unit is a common problem on every vehicle.

They’re made of plastic.

If the replacement sending unit doesn’t have an O-ring, it’s a good idea to apply a small amount thread sealant to sending unit before installing it.

If the return line in the power steering system is leaking, that’s usually caused by the line rubbing against something creating a leak.

That line isn’t under extreme pressure as the supply line in the system.

Tester