Looking for Good User Car

I have been driving a '99 Nissan Sentra for the last several years with good luck. I am now looking to buy another used car (automatic)that is reliable and that costs up to $10,000 or $11,000. I will mostly use the car to get to work and back and for an occasional longer trip (to give my husband’s Honda Civic a break).

My mother-in-law has a 2000 Toyota Echo which has sat around oustide for a year or two. Because the insurance ran out, I couldn’t really see how the pick-up in the car was. She would probably sell for $5,000 or less. The used Sentra’s that I have seen seem to be about $13,000 and I’m not sure how much dealers will come down. I have seen much mention on your site about the Hundayi Elantra. My only concern is longevity and cost for repairs. I haven’t had to put much money into my Sentra and I had a Corolla that was also excellent, but I don’t have the budget.

If the Echo has not been abused, I would take it. Echos are excellent cars, and will cost less to fuel and keep running than Sentras or Elantras. You may have to spend $1000 or so to bring it up to the condition of a reliable daily driver. The Echo, now Yaris, is a perfect second car.

The Echo is a very reliable vehicle, but one that has been sitting may need some work to get it back into good shape, and you didn’t tell us the mileage on it.

There are MANY good choices in used cars. Honda Civic, Toyota Corolla or Echo, Chevrolet Prizm (Corolla in disguise), Nissan Sentra, and any Scion model. This is not a complete list.

The newer Hyundai and Kia vehicles are vastly superior to the older models. I would not hesitate to recommend a used Hyundai or Kia from about 2005 onward.

As with any car, maintenance is the key to reliability and longevity. Follow the recommended maintenance schedule for whatever car you buy and it will serve you well.